Wexford, a beautiful ancient coastal town, has been the proud home of Wexford Festival Opera since its beginnings in 1951. The Vikings invaded and settled in the area in the tenth century and the town was further developed by the invading Normans in 1169. Once a walled town, Wexford retains something of its medieval character, with many interesting narrow streets and laneways, and a long attractive quayside. Today it is truly cosmopolitan, with an eclectic variety of independent shops, craftspeople, hotels, gourmet restaurants and artisan food producers.
From undulating countryside to rolling waves, County Wexford has it all. Rolling rich green fields blanket the peaceful idyll of rural Wexford and slope gently down to a golden coast where the soft sand is in a timeless dance with the Irish Sea. County Wexford has been a tourism mecca for Irish people for well over 130 years. The county’s towns and villages are busy contemporary centres where historical buildings nod knowingly at modern architecture, and locals and visitors alike enjoy the rich tapestry of life that is Wexford today.
For further information on things to do in Wexford see www.visitwexford.ie
Ireland’s most popular visitor attraction tells the story of the birth of popular democracy in Europe through a spectacular exhibition using state of the art audio-visual material, including interactive computers. Recipients of prestigious Interpret Award 1999, the centre is suitable for all the family. There is a Tourism Information Centre, Craft Shop and Restaurant on site. There is ample Car and Coach Parking.
Seasonal opening, please telephone for exact opening times.
Phone: +353 53 923 7596
Ballymore is an Award-winning family museum and includes picture gallery, farm display, 1798 exhibition and walk-about amongst heritage features, including period residence, farmyard church and graveyard, castle site and holy well. Groups are welcome by appointment from April.
Open Sundays only April 29 – June 30 from 2pm - 6pm
Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from 2pm – 6pm from July 2nd to September. Open on Bank Holiday Weekends.
Phone: +353 53 938 3189
Located in the 18th Century Cornmarket House in central Wexford, Wexford Arts Centre is a multi-disciplinary venue of professional art practice and local cultural initiatives. The centre is made up of two beautiful spacious exhibition areas and intimate Theatre.
We host a new exhibition every month and a range of plays, concerts and workshops.
Phone: +353 53 912 3764
National Museum of Irish Agriculture and rural life boasting specialist exhibitions on Farm Transport and Horse Harness, Ferguson System, The Potato Famine the Great Famine (1845-47), Dairying, Rural Crafts, Farmhouse Furniture (120 pieces). The exhibition is all indoors and is wheelchair accessible in the main. The museum and our specialist bookshop are open all year round and the coffee shop is open in July and August only.
Phone: +353 53 918 4671
Johnstown is a 19th Century turreted castle whose gardens contain a wide variety of trees and shrubs, exotic examples blend with native species in stunning setting that represents the best aspects of both a formal and a wild garden. A man-made lake with its particular flora and fauna adds to the appeal of this wonderful Wexford landmark.
Phone: +353 53 918 4671
An 18th Century Farmstead featuring a restored Farmhouse, Forge, Schoolhouse, Working Mill, Thatched Cottage, mini Farm, Play Area, Aviary, Craft Shop and Granny’s Kitchen for wholesome food.
External museum is open daily May to October from 10am to 5pm and in April & November Monday to Friday 10am to 4.30pm
Yola is a state-sponsored heritage and genealogy centre.
Phone: +353 53 913 2610
In just one visit you can experience 9,000 years of Irish history in the fascinating setting of woodland, riverbank and native Irish dwellings. Discover how the Celtic, Norman and Viking settlers left their mark on the countryside. After this, tour through time, enjoy the traditional home-cooked food and Irish specialties of The Fulacht Fiadh Restaurant. Enjoy our Audio-Visual presentations and Guided Tours. Gift Shop also located on site.
Phone: +353 53 912 0733
The Dunbrody is a full-scale reproduction of an 19th Century famine ship (three-masted Barque built in Quebec in 1845). Board the Dunbrody and walk in the footsteps of famine emigrants on their journey of hope across the Atlantic Ocean. Re-enactors bring history to life. A digital database of ships passenger lists records over 2 million individual passengers. Audio Visual and interactive displays trace the amazing success stories of the Kennedys, Henry Ford and Commodore Barry amongst others.
Open daily from April to September 9am – 6pm
October to March 10am - 5pm. Café, Tourist Information, Internet access and Gift-Shop on site.
Phone: +353 51 425 239
Visit the birthplace of the late President John F Kennedy’s great-grandfather where you can enjoy an audio-visual presentation and guided tour, which takes visitors through the family history and historical setting of the Kennedy legacy. Patrick Grennan, a direct descendant of the Kennedy family, whose family have farmed the property at Dunganstown for seven generations, operates the homestead privately.
Open May, June and September – Monday to Friday 11.30am to 4.30pm
July and August – 7 days from 10.00am to 5.30pm
Phone: +353 51 388 264
The arboretum contains a vast collection of trees and shrubs including rhododendrons, dwarf conifers, hedges and forest plots. It covers 252 hectares, with panoramic views, picnic areas, maze, play area, lake, tearoom / shop (seasonal), miniature railway (seasonal) and visitor centre with audio-visual. Open May – August from 10am to 8pm
April & September from 10am to 6.30pm
October – March from 10am – 5pm
Phone: +353 51 388 171
Cistercian Abbey founded c1200 by William, Earl of Marshall. A Visitor Centre operates from May to September with guided tours available on request. Tea Rooms, Exhibitions, Toilets and Car Park available.
Phone: +353 51 562 650
Dunbrody Abbey is a 12th Century Cistercian Monastery and a visit is a must, also on site you can have fun in our full-sized Hedge Maze, Pitch and Putt Course, Textile Academy, Craft Shop and Tea Rooms. The Abbey is open as follows:
Every Sunday between 11am and 1pm during off season
11am to 5pm May, June and September
10am to 6pm during July and August
Phone: +353 51 388 603
The Hook is one of the oldest operational lighthouses in the world. Discover the medieval Tower of Hook; hear the legends of Dubhán, the 6th Century Welsh monk who is reputed to have established the first light of Hook Head. Wild and elemental, tranquil and scenic, enjoy the facilities in the former keeper’s house, which includes a first class café and craft shop.
Open daily from 9.30am to 5.30pm. Please contact the centre for low season times.
Phone: +353 51 397 055