Ecclesiastical Wexford Festival Opera Volunteer Award

This award, sponsored by Ecclesiastical Insurance since 2013, serves to celebrate the significant contribution of Wexford Festival Opera Volunteers.  This partnership was recently nominated for a Business To Arts Award in the 'Best Long Term Partnership' category.

Our dedicated and loyal volunteers are at the heart of our Festival each year and we are thankful our partnership with Ecclesiastical helps us recognise and thank them.

The Award is presented to a Volunteer who has played an integral part in the development of the volunteering programme at the Festival, which is one of the greatest examples of its kind in Ireland. 


Nominees must have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to Wexford Festival Opera.  Their contribution could have been demonstrated either by volunteering during the Festival itself or at any time throughout the year to enhance, promote, fundraise and/or develop Wexford Festival Opera as an organisation and as an event.

Volunteer of the Year Recipients

2011 – Elizabeth Foley

2012 – Viv Crofton

2013 - Tom Murphy and Bríd Tynan

2014 - Nuala Byrne and Claudine Murphy

2015 - Ted Howlin

2016 - Marie Brady

2017 - Albert Lacey

2018 - Selina Scott

2019 - Eleanor White

2021 - David Maguire